University of Northwestern Ohio Awarded Reaffirmation of Accreditation

Posted on Tuesday, July 12, 2016

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) has announced the University of Northwestern Ohio was awarded reaffirmation of accreditation on July 1, 2016.  The Institutional Actions Council of the Higher Learning Commission continued the accreditation of UNOH with the next Reaffirmation of Accreditation scheduled for 2025-2026. 

Speaking of the reaffirmation of accreditation by the HLC, Dr. Jeffrey A. Jarvis, UNOH President, said, “I take great pride in being part of an institution which has a goal of educating people to become productively employed in their chosen career paths while providing a campus environment which encourages students to get involved in campus life, maintain better grades, and establish lasting friendships.”

 “The reaffirmation of accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission ensures our students that they have made a good choice in attending the University of Northwestern Ohio,” said Dr. Dean Hobler, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs. “Working with a continuous improvement strategy, the university has always had a mission to offer quality education in business, health professions, occupational professions, and applied technology fields”.

While the scheduled date of the next Reaffirmation of Accreditation is in 2025-26, accredited status is not for a specific period of time, but is a continuing relationship between UNOH and the Higher Learning Commission and is subject to reconsideration when necessary.  The University of Northwestern Ohio has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1987.


About the Higher Learning Commission:  The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes the following 19 states: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

About UNOH: The University of Northwestern Ohio is a private, not-for-profit University founded in 1920.  Within the university are five colleges:  College of Applied Technologies, College of Business, College of Health Professions, College of Occupational Professions, and the Graduate College.  More than 50 programs are offered in Automotive, High Performance, Diesel, Robotics & Automation, HVAC, Agricultural, Alternate Fuels, Business, Medical, Legal, Travel, IT, Marketing, Sport Marketing and many other fields with Diploma, Associate, and  Baccalaureate Degrees, along with a Master’s Degree in Business Administration.

Category: Business, Health, and Occupational Professions, Campus & Community, Applied Technologies

Keywords: Accreditation

Press Contact

UNOH Public Relations

Last updated: 10/13/2017