UNOH Announces NC-SARA Renewal Approval

Posted on Tuesday, August 22, 2017


The University of Northwestern Ohio is proud to announce that as of October 21 2017, UNOH has successfully renewed institutional participation in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) initiative.

NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. Institutions that are members of SARA are authorized to provide online education to students from all SARA member states.  The only states to not have SARA membership currently are California and Massachusetts. States and institutions that choose to become members of SARA operate under a set of policies and standards that are overseen by the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements and administered by four regional higher education compacts.

The benefits to students residing in SARA states are immediate. All students living in SARA states can now access all online degree programs offered by UNOH. For more information about the SARA initiative and the progress of state and institutional membership, please visit

Speaking of the renewal, UNOH Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost Dr. Dean Hobler stated “The University of Northwestern Ohio is committed to providing high quality education not only to Ohio residents but to students nationally and internationally.  Students are recruited to attend our campus in Lima, Ohio or participate in classes online through our Virtual College.  As an added benefit, there is no out-of-state tuition at UNOH so all students, regardless of their home state or country, will pay the same tuition rate.”

Founded in 1920, the University of Northwestern Ohio is an entrepreneurial, not-for-profit university.  There are five colleges within the university: College of Applied Technologies, College of Business, College of Health Professions, College of Occupational Professions, and the Graduate College.  UNOH is a co-ed campus and has taught students from all 50 states and 61countries, and currently has more than 4500 students enrolled from 40 states and 30 foreign countries.  UNOH offers more than 60 different programs of study including Master’s, Bachelor’s, Associate, and Diploma programs. For more information about UNOH, visit

UNOH is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP), the Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM), the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF), and the Partnership for Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration – Air Conditioning Refrigeration Institute (PAHRA-ARI).

Category: Applied Technologies, Campus & Community

Keywords: NC-SARA, Authorization

Press Contact

UNOH Public Relations

Last updated: 10/16/2017