UNOH's Streicher to be Inducted into Hall of Fame

Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2018


UNOH Instructor Mike Streicher

Tulsa, Oklahoma (November 13, 2018)………The National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame has named six of the sport’s all-time greats into its 2019 class. The Class of 2019 includes (in alphabetical order) Mario Andretti, Tommy Astone, Bryan Clauson, Kenny Irwin, Jr., Bobby Marshman and Mike Streicher.

Mike Streicher has been a success in nearly all facets of midget racing.  The Findlay, Ohio native has won USAC National Midget championships as a driver, car owner, mechanic and car builder.  In 1983, he captured his first series title with USAC as a car owner and mechanic for driver Rich Vogler.  In 1988 at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway, he won the first of his six career USAC National Midget features and was victorious in the Hoosier Dome Invitational in 1990.  The following season, in 1991, Streicher raced to three victories, the USAC National Midget driver title and his third owner championship.  He constructed the Hawk Chassis, which raced to countless Midget feature wins in USAC, NAMARS, ARCA, NEMA, ARDC, and others.  Streicher remains active in racing to this day as a professor at University of Northwestern Ohio’s high performance motorsports program to educate future racers and mechanics.

Synonymous with American auto racing, Mario Andretti has accomplished nearly everything in the realm of motorsport.  He was named Driver of the Century by the Associated Press in 1999 and the American Driver of the Century by Racer Magazine in 2000.  In his illustrious career, the Italian-born drive who resided in Nazareth, Pa. captured the Formula One World Championship in 1978 as well as USAC National Championships in 1965, ’66, ’69 and the CART title in 1984.  He stands alone as the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500 (1969), Daytona 500 (1967) and the Formula One World Championship.  His versatility behind the wheel is unquestionable with victories at the Pikes Peak Hill Climb in 1969, the 12 Hours of Sebring in 1967, ’70 and ’72, an IROC series title in 1979 and as a USAC Midget winner in 1966 at Michigan’s Berlin Raceway.  He began his open wheel racing career in TQ Midgets with the American Three Quarter Midget Racing Association in 1961 before jumping into full-size midgets with ARDC.  On Labor Day weekend in 1963, he won three midgets features in one day at two different tracks: New Jersey’s Flemington Speedway in the afternoon and twin features at Pennsylvania’s Hatfield Speedway during the evening, all driving for the Mataka Brothers, who, from that day forward, always carried the number 3N1 on their cars in honor of the amazing feat.

Streicher and Andretti, along with the other four inductees, Tommy Astone, Bryan Clauson, Kenny Irwin, Jr, and Bobby Marshman will be celebrated with a luncheon and induction ceremony on Friday, January 18, inside Fair Meadows Hall (Simulcast Building) at the Tulsa (Okla.) State Fairgrounds, located adjacent to the Tulsa Expo Center which will be hosting the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals that week.  The doors will open at 11:00am, with the luncheon beginning at 11:30am (Central).

For more information on all the drivers being inducted into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame, click here, or visit their Facebook page.

Congratulations Mike Streicher, from your entire UNOH Family!

Category: Campus & Community, Applied Technologies

Keywords: Streicher, Hall of Fame, National Midget Auto Racing

Press Contact

UNOH Public Relations

Last updated: 11/14/2018